Skip to content

Music Outreach & Concerts

With the aim of sharing music with as many people as possible and imparting musical culture, the Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation offers eclectic and free programming in a blend of concerts and outreach activities. This riche program unfurls a variety of venues during the two weeks of the Festival, from early afternoon until the wee hours.

WORKSHOPS

Privileged encounters between artists and the public, our Workshops are moments of exchange for which the artists are given carte blanche. The musicians share intimate details of their day-to-day experience with music and their craft.
Through these testimonies, the public enjoys an explanation of the work behind creation and what it means to be an artist, thus better understanding their perspective and environment.

workshop_Apparat

SCREENINGS

Each year a selection of films and documentaries is proposed to the greater public, in order to introduce them to music through cinema via biographical or fictional narratives. Spectators are invited to immerse themselves in eras from the history of music, and to (re)discover success stories and musical styles.

EXHIBITIONS

Over the years, the Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation has hosted exhibitions presenting various facets of the musical world. They offer, for example, a look back at its musical currents, the personality who have marked its history or its technicality and the media used to read it.

CONCERTS

Each year we organize concerts to introduce the public to musicians we have fallen in love with, giving audiences the opportunity to get to know and appreciate them. Whether elsewhere in Europe or right here in Montreux, these encounters are opportunities to draw wide attention to promising artists, in intimate or festive ambiances, resulting in unique musical moments.

MUSIC IN THE PARK

At Music in the Park, the MJAF presents eclectic programming in the heart of a green oasis, providing access to live music for one and all. From early afternoon until late in the evening one concert follows another, morphing from a sunny family ambiance into a festive night-time atmosphere.

Music in the Park

JAM SESSIONS

The Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation supports the long-standing Montreux tradition of Jam Sessions. By putting the necessary infrastructure in place and creating conditions that make them more likely to occur, the MJAF encourages these moments that are unique for everyone who experiences them. Each evening, the musicians programmed on the other stages of the Montreux Jazz Festival meet up at La Coupole. Many of them come seeking the spontaneity, the liberty of expression, and the pleasure of improvisation which formatted tour concerts allow less and less frequently.

Jam session Janelle Monaé

Aller au contenu

Médiation & Concerts

Afin de partager la musique avec le plus grand nombre et transmettre une culture musicale, la Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation offre une programmation éclectique et gratuite, mêlant concerts et activités de médiation. Le public est invité à découvrir un patrimoine musical au travers de différents media, révélant ainsi sa richesse. Ce programme se déroule sur plusieurs scènes durant les deux semaines du Festival, du début de l’après-midi jusque tard dans la nuit.

WORKSHOPS

Rencontres privilégiées entre les artistes et le public, les Workshops sont des moments de partage proposés sous forme de cartes blanches. Les musiciens viennent se confier sur leur manière de vivre la musique et leur métier au quotidien. Par ces témoignages, le public accède à une explication du travail de création et du statut d’artiste, lui permettant de mieux comprendre la réalité et l’environnement dans lequel les musiciens évoluent.

workshop_Apparat

PROJECTIONS

Chaque année, une sélection de films et documentaires est proposée au grand public pour l’initier à la musique par le cinéma, au travers de récits biographiques ou romancés. Ils invitent les spectateurs à se plonger dans des pans de l’histoire de la musique, à (re)découvrir des success stories ou des styles musicaux.

Quincy Jones documentary

EXPOSITIONS

Au fil des ans, la Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation accueille des expositions qui présentent diverses facettes de l’univers musical. Elles proposent par exemple de revenir sur ses courants musicaux, sur les figures qui ont marqué son histoire ou sur sa technicité et ses supports de lecture.

CONCERTS

Chaque année, nous organisons des concerts afin de partager nos coups de coeur musicaux avec le grand public pour lui donner la chance de les découvrir et d’en profiter. Qu’elles se déroulent en Europe ou simplement à Montreux, ces rencontres sont l’occasion d’attirer l’attention du grand public sur des artistes prometteurs, dans des atmosphères intimistes ou festives, offrant des moments musicaux uniques.

MUSIC IN THE PARK

Au sein d’un écrin de verdure, la MJAF présente tous les jours, sur la scène de Music in the Park, une programmation éclectique pour permettre à tout un chacun d’avoir accès à la musique live. Du milieu de l’après-midi jusque tard dans la soirée, les concerts s’enchaînent, passant d’une ambiance diurne et familiale à une atmosphère nocturne et festive.

Music in the Park

JAM SESSIONS

La Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation soutient la longue tradition montreusienne des Jam Sessions qui fait écho à deux de ses valeurs artistiques : la liberté d’expression et la spontanéité. En mettant en place l’infrastructure nécessaire et en créant les conditions propices à leur déroulement, la MJAF encourage ces moments uniques pour tous ceux qui y assistent. Tous les soirs, les nombreux musiciens programmés sur les autres scènes du Montreux Jazz Festival se donnent rendez-vous à La Coupole. Nombreux sont ceux qui y viennent pour retrouver le plaisir de l’improvisation que les concerts formatés des tournées permettent de moins en moins.